Tags

,

Ever since I was a young boy, I remember watching my family suffer through the pains of having poor health. My grandparents were always pricking their fingers to check their insulin levels while my uncle suffered from Parkinson’s disease. My mother was sick with hepatitis C and eventually contracted cirrhosis. My older brother contracted Lyme disease in his teenage years and went partially deaf. My younger brother had detached both his retinas somehow at a young age. My best friends mom died prematurely from intestinal blockage. My close friends became obese and eventually became diabetic. I personally suffered from being born premature and having scoliosis.

I was disheartened because I felt powerless. “This was the way of the world”, they said. “There’s nothing you can do”, they said.

However, I knew it was not normal but there was nothing I can do to help them or myself. I became this depressed, closed minded individual who hated the world. I ate all the wrong foods, didn’t exercise and punished my body with junk food, sugars and alcohol.

One day, I woke up and I realized that I was sick and tired of living that lifestyle. That’s when I decided to make a change.

The first thing that I had to do was to gave up fake caffeine. All of it. No more 5 hour energy, no more Redbull, no more Monster, no more Bawls, no more Mountain Dew. The withdrawal I went through was unlike anything I’ve ever experienced. I had the most “painful” urges to pop open a can of caffeine and drink it but I knew it was for my own good.

After several weeks of cutting myself off from drinking these heavily caffeinated drinks, I noticed a drastic change in my body. My hands no longer shook when I extended them, and by sleeping regularly, I noticed that I had more energy throughout the day. I started to add more fruit, vegetables and fiber into my diet instead of eating chips, soda and fast food. I felt GOOD about myself. I no longer had the urge to have a caffeinated drink to “survive” the  jungle of New York. It was such an amazing experience, to the point where I didn’t even know why I started drinking caffeine to begin with.

This experience led to my new found drive to helping everyone around me go through the same experience and live a natural healthy lifestyle. Come back next week for the next installment of my health and wellness journey!

 

 

